Silver for Cuban canoeist Serguey Torres in World Championship

Silver for Cuban canoeist Serguey Torres in World Championship
Fecha de publicación: 
8 August 2022
Imagen principal: 

Havana, August 8 (RHC)-- Cuban canoeist Serguei Torres won the silver medal on Sunday in the single seater (C-1) at 5,000 meters, on the closing day of the World Canoe Sprint Championship, held at Banook Lake, in Halifax, Canada.

According to the International Canoe Federation website, the Tokyo 2020 Olympic titleholder in the two-seater (C-2) at one thousand meters, covered the distance of the direct A final in 23:37.94 minutes, beaten by Moldova's Serghei Tarnovschi (23:37.85 minutes).

Tarnovschi also climbed the podium in Tokyo, but in the C-1 1000 meters, while the bronze medal in the long course went to Germany's Sebastian Brendel (23:55.18 minutes), bronze medalist in the C-2 1000 meters in the Japanese capital.

In the same distance -5000 meters-, Yarisleidis Cirilo was off the podium, with a fourth place and a time of 29:09.94 minutes, ahead of Canada's Katie Vicente (27:50.88 minutes), current Olympic bronze medalist in the C-2 500 meters.

Vicente was now escorted by Germany's Annika Loske (27:55.52 minutes) and Spain's Maria Corbera (28:02.52 minutes).

In the C-1 200m A final, things did not go well for Cirilo either on Sunday, finishing in sixth place, with a time of 50.92 seconds, behind American Nevin Harrison (49.87 seconds), Spaniard Corbera (50.54 seconds) and China's Wenjun Lin (50.55 seconds).

The same happened to José Remón Pelier (4:21.64 minutes), who finished ninth and last in the final A of the 1,000-meter C-1, in an event won by the Romanian Catalin Chirila (4:14.28 minutes), Olympic champion in Tokyo 2020.

The silver and bronze medals went to Brazil's Isquias Queiroz Dos Santos (4:15.80 minutes), winner in the Japanese capital, and Czech Martin Fuksa (4:16.21 minutes), in that order.

Cuba won a historic gold medal in the women's 200m C-2 A final in Halifax on Saturday, with Cirilo and Katherin Nuevo, who stopped the clocks in 45.09 seconds.

The five Cubans (1-1-0), who won six A finals, shared 10th place in the medal standings with Brazil (1-1-0), ahead of Spain (4-2-2), Hungary (4-1-6), Poland (3-3-1), Canada (3-1-2), Germany (2-7-5), Australia (2-2-1), Ukraine (2-1-2), New Zealand (2-0-0) and China (1-2-2).

Add new comment

This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
Enter the characters shown in the image.