Twelve Dominican provinces on red alert due to Fiona’s proximity

Twelve Dominican provinces on red alert due to Fiona’s proximity
Fecha de publicación: 
18 September 2022
Imagen principal: 

Santo Domingo, Sept 18 (Prensa Latina) The Dominican Republic is brazing for the arrival of Tropical Storm Fiona with 12 provinces on red alert (maximum) and preparing for heavy rains.

According to the Emergency Operation Center (COE), state institutions are taking relevant measures foreseen in contingency plans pending to know Fiona’s probable exact path when it gets closer to its territory.

The provinces on red alert are the National District, San Cristobal, Santo Domingo, San Pedro de Macoris, La Romana, La Altagracia, Maria Trinidad Sanchez, Espaillat, Puerto Plata, Samana, Hato Mayor, El Seibo and Monte Plata.

Moreover, Sanchez Ramirez, Azua, San Jose de Ocoa, Duarte, Peravia, Barahona, La Vega and Monseñor Nouel are on yellow alert (intermediate), whereas Hermanas Mirabal, San Juan, Monte Cristi, Elías Piña, Independencia, Santiago Rodriguez, Valverde, Pedernales, Bahoruco, Dajabon and Santiago are on green alert (minimum).

The National Office of Meteorology reported that the storm is located some 130 kms away from Puerto Rico and must move towards the west/northwest and slightly increase its motion speed to some 13 km/h.

Add new comment

This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
Enter the characters shown in the image.