Cuban Head of State receives Iranian Vice President

Cuban Head of State receives Iranian Vice President
Fecha de publicación: 
15 September 2023
Imagen principal: 

The First Secretary of the Central Committee of the Communist Party of Cuba and President of the Republic, Miguel Díaz-Canel received on Wednesday Rouhollah Firouzabadi, Iranian vice president for Science, Technology and Knowledge-based Economy Affairs.

On its website, the Foreign Ministry informed that during the meeting the Cuban president highlighted the excellent state of bilateral relations between the two countries.

The parties agreed to promote joint work in areas identified as mutually beneficial, especially biotechnology, and ratified the will to continue strengthening ties.

Díaz-Canel expressed his gratitude for Iran's permanent support to the demand of the largest Antillean island for the end of the economic, commercial and financial blockade imposed by the United States more than 60 years ago.

The head of state expressed Cuba's opposition to unilateral sanctions against Iran and attempts to subvert the internal order of that nation.

During the exchange, they followed up on the agreements reached during the official visit of Iranian President Ayatollah Seyed Ebrahim Raisi in June this year.

The visitor was accompanied by Seyed Mohammad Hadi Sobhani, ambassador of the Islamic Republic of Iran in Cuba; Amir Hossein Mirabadi, president of the International Interaction Center for Science and Technology of the vice-presidency for Science, Technology and Knowledge-based Economy Affairs.

Also in Havana are Mahdi Elyasi, Deputy Head of Policy and Development of the Vice-Presidency for Science, Technology and Knowledge-Based Economy Affairs; Tofigh Sedigh Mostahkam, President of the Office of Scientific and International Collaboration of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs; and Alireza Khakdaman, Head of the Presidential and Public Relations Department.

Representing Cuba at the meeting were Bruno Rodríguez, Minister of Foreign Affairs; Ricardo Cabrisas Ruiz, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Foreign Trade and Investment; Elba Rosa Pérez Montoya, Minister of Science, Technology and Environment; Carlos Miguel Pereira Hernández, Director General of Bilateral Affairs; and Alexander Pellicer Moraga, Director of North Africa and the Middle East of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

Add new comment

This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
Enter the characters shown in the image.