Santiago de Cuba third classified in the Cuban baseball playoffs

Santiago de Cuba third classified in the Cuban baseball playoffs
Fecha de publicación: 
14 June 2024
Imagen principal: 

Three home runs by Yoelquis Guibert contributed to Santiago de Cuba's victory over Industriales (10-7), a result that put the third place in the quarterfinal playoffs of the tournament in the hands of the winners. Cuban baseball player.

Guibert drove in seven runs with his trio of full-round bats, the 152nd time that a batter hit three homers in the same game in Cuban baseball championships, according to the files of statistician Benigno Daquinta.

The Avispas join Pinar del Río and Granma in the club of teams classified for the postseason.

The rain prevented Las Tunas from playing with Artemisa, teams that are on different paths: the current champions need a victory to make their ticket to the next round official, while the Cazadores are around eighth place, the last one that assigns passage to the decisive instance.

Sancti Spíritus beat Holguín 10-0 with complete work by pitcher Alex Guerra and maintained its position among those who will survive the preliminary phase, but saw its advantage reduced with Guantánamo's two victories over La Isla and the one achieved sensationally by Villa Clara .

The Indians won early (9-7), led by Leonelkis Escalante, author of a tubey, two triples and five RBIs, and finished with a score of 8-5.

One out after a costly setback, Pedro Chávez hit the ball with a full turn to leave Cienfuegos on the field 5-4, an outcome that raised the Villa Clara team's hopes of making it into the top eight.

Ciego de Ávila complicated Mayabeque's aspirations by defeating them 11-4, while Camagüey left their losing streak at seven and defeated Matanzas (12-8).

In a recognition game, Pinar del Río left Granma on the field 3-2 in 10 innings to confirm its leadership in the standings with a balance of 46-23.

Next are Las Tunas (40-22), Granma (43-26), Santiago de Cuba (41-29), Industriales and Ciego de Ávila (38-32), Matanzas (37-33) and Sancti Spíritus (35- 35).

Then there are Guantánamo (34-35), Villa Clara (34-36), Artemisa (32-35), Mayabeque (33-37), Camagüey (31-39), Holguín (25-45), Cienfuegos (24- 46) and La Isla (19-45).

Add new comment

This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
Enter the characters shown in the image.