

US Rewards Allies in Jerusalem Decision with Special Party

03/01/2018



Only seven countries voted in line with Washington's interests: Togo, Micronesia, Nauru, Palau, Marshall Islands, Guatemala and Honduras.

U.S. Ambassador to the U.N. Nikki Haley announced Tuesday that Washington will organize a reception "for the countries who chose not to oppose the U.S. position."

RELATED: <u>Israeli Ruling Party Votes to Annex West Bank and Seize Last</u> Palestinian Lands

Haley was referring to a vote on a U.N. resolution to condemn the U.S. unilateral recognition of Jerusalem as the capital of Israel.

East Jerusalem was illegally annexed by Israel after the 1967 war. Before U.S. President Donald Trump's declaration, Israel stood alone in claiming sovereignty over it. The eastern part of Jerusalem remains mostly inhabited by Palestinians who face house demolitions and evictions as part of Israel's attempt to control the city.



US Rewards Allies in Jerusalem Decision with Special Party Published on Cuba Si (http://www.cubasi.cu)

The U.S. unilateral recognition sparked waves of protests across Palestinian territory that have resulted in the deaths of at least 12 Palestinians and more than 600 arrests and detentions. The move also sparked condemnation of world leaders across continents as most viewed Washington's move as the end of a two-state solution. For decades, East Jerusalem was seen as the future capital of a Palestinian state.

Before the Jerusalem vote took place, Trump said the U.S. will not continue to give "hundreds of billions of dollars" to countries who voted against the U.S., adding "let them vote against us ... We'll save a lot."

In spite of Trump's comments, only seven countries — other than Israel and the U.S. — voted in line with Washington's interests: Togo, Micronesia, Nauru, Palau, Marshall Islands, Guatemala and Honduras.

After the vote, Haley said the United States "will remember this day" and threatened the U.N., vowing to "remember it (the vote) when we are called upon to once again make the world's largest contribution to the United Nations."

The "exclusive" invitation includes countries that chose to abstain from the vote, among them Mexico, Argentina, Canada and Australia.

Page 2 of 2