Cuba’s UNEAC to announce winners of Musicology Award 2023

Cuba’s UNEAC to announce winners of Musicology Award 2023
Fecha de publicación: 
26 September 2023
Imagen principal: 

Winners of the 2023 Argeliers Leon Musicology Award and the Zoila Gomez and Danilo Orozco Essay Award will be announced at the National Association of Cuban Writers and Artists (UNEAC) in this capital on Tuesday.

The Ruben Martinez Villena Hall of that cultural institution will host the ceremony, dedicated this 15th edition to Harold Gramatges and Argeliers Leon on their 105th birthdays.

Other maestros in developing Cuban music and musicology, including composer Roberto Valera and musicologist María de los angeles Córdova, will also be honored.

The 45th anniversary of the Center for Research and Development of Cuban Music (CIDMUC) is added to the celebrations with a competition sponsored by the Musicology Section of the UNEAC Association of Musicians.

The first event dates back to 1991 and was accompanied by two modalities since 2004 and 2015: the Zoila Gomez Award for students to intermediate-level theoretical subjects and the Danilo Orozco Award for those who study higher-level musicology.

With more than 30 years of existence, the winners of such awards contribute to research of remarkable historical-documentary value and help to consolidate the teaching-learning process in the country’s educational system.

Add new comment

This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
Enter the characters shown in the image.