Cuba's membership in ASEAN's Friendship and Cooperation Treaty confirmed

Cuba's membership in ASEAN's Friendship and Cooperation Treaty confirmed
Fecha de publicación: 
9 November 2020
Imagen principal: 

The foreign affairs ministers of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) confirmed today Cuba's acceptance as a member of the bloc's Friendship and Cooperation Treaty (TAC).

The unanimous decision took place during a virtual meeting between the heads of diplomacy of the member countries of the grouping - Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, and Vietnam -, which is holding the pro tempore presidency of the grouping.

Diplomatic sources told Prensa Latina news agency that the island's membership in the agreement could be made official this Tuesday along with those of Colombia and South Africa.

The decision had already been taken on September 12, but it still required the sanction of the Foreign Affairs heads of the Association's members.

On that occasion, Cuban Foreign Minister Bruno Rodríguez wrote on Twitter that incorporating his country to the TAC would ''contribute to deepen our links with this prestigious regional organization and broaden the areas of cooperation with Southeast Asia''.

The Caribbean nation and the Association share similar positions on non-intervention in internal affairs and full respect for the sovereignty and territorial integrity of States and the rest of the purposes and principles of the United Nations Charter.

With some of the ASEAN member nations, Cuba celebrates this year the 60th anniversary of the establishment of diplomatic relations.

Add new comment

This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
Enter the characters shown in the image.