Cuba prepares for the Pan American (m) under-21 volleyball tournament from October 3 to 8

Cuba prepares for the Pan American (m) under-21 volleyball tournament from October 3 to 8
Fecha de publicación: 
21 September 2022
Imagen principal: 

Havana, September 21 (PL)-- Cuba is getting ready for the Men's Under-21 Volleyball Pan American Cup, with the participation of eight teams from October 3 to 8 at the Coliseum of the Ciudad Deportiva in Havana, Cuba's capital city.

It is a great satisfaction for the federation and the national sports movement to be able to once again host events from North, South, Central America and the Caribbean in our main scenario, said the vice president of the Sports Institute, Ariel Sainz, in statements to the digital media Jit.

The western province of Pinar del Rio held international tournaments (before the covid-19 pandemic and this year), he recalled and added that "adjusted to a plan of massification and generalization of venues in the country, but undoubtedly our fundamental venue is the Coliseum".

This Pan American Cup will give continuity to the preparation of future generations and will be an extension of the work done for many years with athletes who are consolidated in the Antillean team, said the also president of the Cuban Volleyball Federation.

Group A of the tournament, whose winner gets the ticket to the World Championship of the category in 2023, is made up of Mexico, Dominican Republic, United States and Chile; while Group B is made up of Canada, Nicaragua, Haiti and the hosts, according to the Confederation on its website.

The preliminary phase will take place on October 3, 4 and 5, the winners of each key will advance directly to the semifinals and will be the only ones with a rest day.

On Thursday, October 6, the second and third place finishers will seek victory in the quarterfinals to reach the penultimate round, while the two semifinal matches will take place on Friday, October 7.

Prior to these, on that day, four teams will compete for the fifth to eighth places, and on Saturday 8, the competition concludes with the discussion of the bronze and gold medals in that order.

The Cuban team, with one gold and one silver medal since 2011, lifted the trophy of the 2019 edition held in Peru, followed by Canada, Puerto Rico and Chile.

Add new comment

This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
Enter the characters shown in the image.